Lord, keep us upright

Last night, I stayed up late doing homework and getting some stuff done. I was hoping for an Ice Day today. In fact, it was almost guaranteed. We woke up this morning to a sheet of ice covering everything. Literally everything. And yet we still had class. So, there I was at 8:30 sliding to class (I can’t say that I walked to class…there was too much ice) with a rather bad attitude. Cedarville is literally the only thing in this area that is open. And I would like to remind you once again that Cedarville is covered in a sheet of ice.

Dean Gibbs opened chapel today with a prayer that included the line, “Lord, keep us upright today.” I laughed, but it was so simple, and so true. Lord, keep us upright on this ice. Lord, keep us upright in word and in deed. Lord, keep us upright as you are upright.

“The Lord is upright; he is my Rock, and there is no wickedness in Him.” (Ps 92:15)

“For the grace of God that brings salvation has appeared to all men. It teaches us to say “No” to ungodliness and worldly passions, and to live self-controlled, upright and godly lives in this present age, while we wait for the blessed hope–the glorious appearing of our great God and Saviour, Jesus Christ, who gave himself for us to redeem us from all wickedness and to purify for himself a people that are his very own, eager to do what is good.” (Titus 2:11-14)

Yes. For that reason, stay upright today!

Here are some pictures of the sheet of ice that is currently covering Cedarville:

6 thoughts on “Lord, keep us upright

  1. Tamarah says:

    Oh my goodness! We had a little bit of ice today, but not much… yet we still had a 2 hour delay. bad call on eastern’s part… i wish you could have had ours! we’ve had almost no classes because they keep making bad calls! and now night classes are cancelled. i’m not even sure why!

  2. I know…Im still really mad! We are getting more ice storms tonight, but I still have my 6:00 class. Im getting ANGRY lol.

  3. Well, NOW campus is closed. Finally!! Woot woot!

  4. Beth says:

    Wow! Hope you don’t have to drive in that…but I can definitely relate to that prayer!

  5. Mom says:

    Hi Suzanne. I left a comment, but I don’t see it. Anyway, I love your pictures! You might as well see beauty in a tough situation. And I’m glad they finally closed school. Here it’s just rain.

  6. Alesha Vines says:

    That’s funny, Suz. Keep us upright. Ha! Pretty pictures!

Leave a Reply

