Couldn’t Say It Better Myself

For years I have HATED how people equate Africa with poverty and poverty with sadness. Yes, most of Africa is poor. And yes, a lot of poor people often get sad. But so do rich people. And I have seen plenty of poor people who are very, very happy. Very happy because they have Christ, or when they don’t have Christ, poor people have the ability to laugh and have fun and enjoy their lives.

Theo and I started supporting a little boy with Compassion Internationale. I have done my best at praying for this little chap every day, and every day I wait for the day when I will get my first letter from him so I can start to know his personality, his likes and dislikes, if he has a relationship with Jesus. When I was on the Compassion Internationale page, I found the blog and I subscribed to it. I love getting the updates. It reminds me to pray, it helps me to have a view of the world that is beyond the town limits of Cedarville. And most of the time, I couldn’t say it better myself.

Here is one excellent example:

http://blog.compassion.com/wheres-the-poverty/

Now don’t get tooo lost on that wonderful website!

 

One thought on “Couldn’t Say It Better Myself

  1. Mom says:

    I always think of Hawa and how she was such a kind, generous, happy person even though she owned almost nothing. I think saying that poverty and unhappiness or poverty and crime go hand-in-hand is using poverty as an excuse. Look at how many rich people are unhappy or involved in crime and how many poor people are happy and honest.

Leave a Reply

