Sickness

God woke me up this morning, and I have thousands and thousands of things to be thankful for. I can’t believe the peace that I felt as I woke up and actually did my devotions all the way through for the first time in a long time. Lately, I just haven’t had the energy to put effort into studying God’s Word. And yet God is still faithful to me. I was reading Radical this morning, and it happened to be the chapter about how God humbles us and then anything that we do is obviously not me, but instead God. In that way, he receives all the glory.

I have been sick for a good 4 weeks now. Yes, 4 weeks. How have I managed? I don’t know. I honestly don’t know…. It started with extreme nausea that just never went away. I had my second doctor’s visit yesterday, but right now it just seems like ‘lets try this’, or ‘lets do this…’ The doctor seems to think that I have an ulcer, so I am just taking medicines for my stomach. The worst part of this sickness is the fact that I can’t eat, but since I can’t eat, I can’t get strong enough to fight off the sickness. It just seems like a never-ending cycle, so I have resolved to just eat and then I always have to lay down until the nausea passes.

I have been missing a lot of class, but a huge praise is that I am barely behind in any of them. It is just frustrating to not be able to go to class when I know that there are big bucks being payed for my education.

On a way more positive note, I cannot believe the encouragement that I have been surrounded with. First of all, my fiance Theo has literally served me day in and day out. He gets me food, he gets me my meds, he makes the doctors appointment for me, he drives me to Xenia so I don’t have to stay in a cold dorm room for one more night. His strength and energy have been drained by my sickness, too, so if you think of it, could you pray for him? I have also been greatly encouraged by all the mail, email and even facebook posts that everyone has given me. I cannot believe how many people are praying for me, and are constantly asking how I am doing when I am sick. I may feel like I am battling this sickness and that I have no help, but I have so many people who are surrounding me who are there for me and are most importantly lifting me up to the Heavenly Father.

So, could you, please, take a moment and pray for me? Pray for healing, but beyond that, pray that I will have patience and trust in God’s plan in this. It is not easy to be sick for so long, but it certainly is easy to get angry at God and ask him why my healing has not come yet. I know that he is sovereign and that he is the sustainer and giver of life, so I have much to be thankful for. Just keep me in your prayers, would ya?

2 thoughts on “Sickness

  1. Alesha says:

    Oh Suz, I’m so sorry that you are still sick! I love you and I am praying for you and I hope you feel better REALLY REALLY REALLY ad infinitum ad nauseum better! If that makes any sense. ;0

  2. Praying, sister. Theo’s a pretty good guy! Keep pushing. He will bring you through. Enjoy this Saturday 😉

Leave a Reply

