Kindergarten

I mentioned in my last post about Kindergarten, and I realized that I haven’t posted on here about my Kindergarten experience yet!!! Forgive me!

I have been in a Kindergarten class for the past two weeks, not being an observer, but an active participant in the classroom. It has been a blast, but also very tiring, and I have come down with a nasty cold along with a touch of pink eye (it is a good thing that I have a bro-in-law who can write me a quick prescription and get that eye from getting nasty, noticeable and contagious!).

I have learned many things. One thing that completely blew my mind was how much these young children have to learn. When I was in Kindergarten, we learned a letter of the alphabet, played at the centers, listened and danced to music, and maayyyyyybeeee learned another alphabet letter. In Kindergarten nowadays, the kids have writers workshop, interactive writing, have to be able to read 25 high frequency words by the end, and only have one 20 recess during the day. A lot of the activities that they do are really fun, but there is never a time in the classroom where the children are just allowed to have free, fun time. It just completely blows my mind!

Here I am in my first day of Kindergarten outfit:

I wish that I had my first first day of Kindergarten to compare, but I can’t find it anywhere on my computer.

I am loving every minute of Kindergarten, and can’t believe that I only have a few days left! Tomorrow I teach one lesson and on the following Tuesday I teach my last lesson. Lessons for the most part don’t make me nervous, but the one for Tuesday has been rearranged so many times that I am extremely nervous for it!

Here is a picture of who I get to hang out with every day:

Don’t be too jealous, now! We have so much fun!!!

Leave a Reply

