Blessings

I had a goal this morning when I woke up. Getting some wedding plans underway, do a blog post and be lazy. Sounds like a good plan, right? So here I am fulfilling one of my goals: doing a blog post! My original plan for this post was to write about the recent bridal shower that was thrown for me, but my Mom just gave me some super exciting news that I have to share.

Growing up in the small African village of Tera, I had a lot of African friends. My two closest friends were M and S. S was our house lady’s daughter, and I have been able to keep in touch with her to this day. She got married my senior year of high school and now has one son. M was a completely different story. Her family was extremely poor and needed to marry her off the first chance that they got. They loved her dearly, but it was honestly the only way that they could have one less mouth to feed, M could have food and they could collect the dowry to live off of for the next few months. M was married at 13, but she hated it, so she ran away from her husband. No one was outwardly happy with this, but I think that everyone that knew Maya was secretly happy. A couple years later, she was married again. This time her husband lived in Ghana, and he took her away to live with him. That happened while we were on home assignment when I was in 9th grade. I haven’t seen her since then, but I have been able to talk to her on the phone every once in a while. The one thing that M always asked me was that I would pray for her. She wanted a baby, but she was not able to have one. She would beg me to pray to my God that He would give her a baby.

Well, God has answered my prayer. And although I haven’t talked to her directly, I think that she knows that it is God who answered her prayer.

Will you pray for my friend? Pray that her baby will live. Not just survive, but live to bring God glory?And praise God for this huge blessing in her life! Pray that she will come to believe (she certainly KNOWS) the gospel through this!!!!!

 

This is me, S and M. This was after M was married the first time and right before she was married the second time. S was not yet married at this time.

S is on the L, me in the middle and M on the right.

 

2 thoughts on “Blessings

  1. Thanks for sharing this! 🙂 I love the new look to your blog, too!!!

  2. Alesha says:

    That’s incredible how God shows unbelievers his love. Thank you for sharing with us! And I second your mom, I love the look of your blog. Very classy. I don’t know when you changed it because I usually read from my phone which doesn’t show me your layout, so I’m sorry if this is and old change and I didn’t notice! ;D

Leave a Reply

