Vows

I’ve wanted to wait for our wedding pictures before I start putting up posts about our wedding, but I decided this was one that I could go ahead with. Our whole wedding was beautiful, and when we planned it we really wanted the ceremony to reflect Christ and be the center of our wedding. I think too we focus on the party after the wedding, and while that is a wonderful thing it is the uniting of two people together that really should be the main attraction.

About a year ago, Theo and I went to our good friends wedding. When they said their vows, we LOVED them and tucked that away in our minds. A year later, we got a copy of them (the man that officiated their wedding also officiated ours) and used them as our wedding vows.

Image(photo taken by Joanna Hines)

Suzanne, I vow to you these things, which I can only fulfill by the grace of God.

As Christ loves His church sacrificially, so I vow to sacrifice myself for your sake.

As Christ loves the Church above all others, so I vow to delight in you along.

As Christ provides all that the church needs, so I vow to provide for you.

As Christ makes the church more Himself, so I vow to point you to Him in all things.

As Christ leads His church, so I vow to lead you as I follow Christ.

As Christ serves His church with the best possible care, so I vow to serve you with humility, patience and love.

And just as Christ has promised never to leave or forsake his church, so I vow to never depart from or abandon you.

By my love, I hope to prepare you for the day when you will meet Jesus face to face and experience his love, which surpasses all understanding.

Β 

Theo, I vow to you these things, which I can only fulfill by the grace of God.

As the church is to love Christ sacrificially, so I vow to sacrifice myself for your sake.

As the church is to love Christ above all others, so I vow to delight in you alone.

As the church is to submit to Christ, so I vow to submit to you.

As the church is to represent Christ in all that she does, so I vow to represent you with dignity and honor.

As the church is to obey Christ in all things, so I vow to follow you as you obey Christ.Β 

As the church is to serve Christ, so I vow to serve you with humility, patience and respect.

And just as the church will forever remain the bride of Christ, so I vow to never depart from or abandon you.

By my love, I hope to prepare you for the day when you will meet Jesus face to fave and know His love, which surpasses all understanding.

We also had the congregation vow to keep us accountable to our marriage vows:

Theo and Suzanne, as the church of Christ, we commit to hold you accountable to your marriage vows. We will uphold you in prayer, encourage and support you as you grow in your marriage, and extend loving discipline if you stray from your commitments to God or each other. By our love, we hope to prepare you for the day when you will meet Jesus face to face and know His love, which surpasses all understanding.

One thought on “Vows

  1. These are the nicest vows I’ve ever heard. I was so excited when Daniel and Kelly used them, too! Hearing them made me cry at both your wedding and theirs!

Leave a Reply

