Half Marathon

 

Theo and I signed up for a half marathon. I am SUPER excited, but half regret that decision. You see, we have hardly trained at all. I think that if I really push myself, I can run 4 miles.

A half marathon is 13.1 miles.

I need an different reason to run that to just be in shape. A cause. A reason to put one foot in front of the other when I hit that wall.

We researched several half marathons in the area. There were only one or two that donations or entry fees went to a different cause. Both of those were over two hours away and started at 6am. It just didn’t seem possible to us. So we picked one that gave us a good goal date, that wasn’t over $75, and that looked interesting.

But we want to do more.

Obviously, Niger is close to my heart. (Btw—- did you see they have six athletes in the Olympics???? I am SOOO proud of them!!!). Theo and I have decided that when we run the half marathon, we want to run it for Niger. So we need your help.

When I was in 6th grade, my class raised money for something by walking/running around the track. Maybe it was that we earned a party, I do not entirely remember what exactly what we did it for. But it worked like this: For every mile that we walked, people pledged to pay us a certain amount. Someone could pay us $4 per mile that we ran. Or $7 per mile that we ran.

So, for our 13.1 mile run, someone could pledge to pay us a dollar for every mile that we run, equaling $13.1. Two dollars for every mile that we run = $26.2. Every single cent of that money will go directly to Niger, either for famine relief or building a new house for a precious neighbor in the village that I grew up in. Who knows, maybe we can get enough to do both?

So if you want to support our half marathon, and more importantly, support Niger…..send me an email at sdevalve@cedarville.edu. Let us know if you would like to give to Niger, and how much you want to give us per mile that we run.Β Β  I will post more specifics when I get some response and see how this project will work out. Re-post, spread the word, get friends and family on board!

Our half marathon is coming up soon….September 30th!!!

2 thoughts on “Half Marathon

  1. Shannon says:

    Good luck with the half marathon! Levi and I are actually training for our second one right now, too πŸ™‚ If you need suggestions for a great training plan (that’s free), I would recommend Smartcoach.runnersworld.com. They will create an individualized plan for you!

  2. Ryan Einfeldt says:

    You can do it! I’ll take you on at $2/mile.

Leave a Reply

