And on a lighter note…

And on a much, much lighter note: Have you ever listened to a song and you know all the words but something just doesn’t quite make sense? Then you realize you had the wrong words the whole time and the real words make PERFECT SENSE…. Here are some examples I have:

Newsboys- “Who” I thought the line was “Tender as a booger in the microwave”, turns out they were actually saying “Tender as a burger in the microwave” (Ok, that one was really close, right? And they DO have Australian accents…)

Jo Dee Messina- “Bye Bye”- I thought for the longest time that she was saying “I got my left foot on the accelerator”, which really made NO sense (you drive with your right foot), but it turns out she is saying “I got my lead foot on the accelerator”. THAT makes more sense.

When I was younger, I remember listening to PCD on my walkman and I started singing really loud in the car to their song “Restoration”. Instead of  “what we need is restoration” I thought they were saying “what we need is respiration“. My family won’t let me live that one down…

Or are you one of those people like my husband who catches the reverse amount of words? We will be driving somewhere with the radio on and I will say, “Listen! This is the CUTEST song!”. But then he can’t seem to catch the lyrics, he says it sounds like “alkajdfad iwuesdlfj you lkajsdfad love laksdjfasdf night lakdjfiuea dance alkdjfalsfkj riding a bike” and therefore the song makes NO sense whatsoever to him!

What type of song listener are you? Do you ‘get’ every single lyric the first time like my high school friend Chantelle? Or do you think you got them but then realize that you were singing the wrong thing the whole time? Or are you like my husband who gets a few words but not the gist of the song until you have heard it several times?

What songs have confusing words for you, but when you finally figured it out, it was like a lightbulb moment?  I would love to hear the humorous stories…! I know that there are many more songs that I still haven’t got a clue what the real words are, so maybe if you share your stories, I will become more enlightened on my musical lyrics!

 

P.S.— On this same subject, I once heard that the song “Pharaoh, Pharaoh” is actually supposed to go “Pharaoh, Pharaoh obey me– let my people go!” instead of “Pharaoh, Pharaoh, o baby– let my people go!” Does that not make 100000 times more sense????

2 thoughts on “And on a lighter note…

  1. Beth says:

    When I was in Jr. High, I loved listening to David Meece….you probably don’t even know who he is but anyway, he had the song and one of the lines was “Lift your hands up and praise him.” It totally sounded like “Lift your pants up and praise him.” 🙂 Thinking about that mistaken line always cracks me up!

  2. Gwen Baker says:

    I love this entry. Oh it cracked me up and it reminds me of when I was in 2 grade in Sunday school. I never have been a great speller, though much improved now, I chalk it up to speaking only German until I went to kindergarten. The only way I found my way there was because it was a German word! So imagine my embarrassment when in SS one day, second grade mind you, while singing The B-I-B-L-E, that I realized at long last that it spelled Bible!!! To think I would become a theologian and major in Greek NT seals the humor of God…AND His grace!!!

Leave a Reply

