Family, Feasting and Funerals

Yep, that about sums up my Thanksgiving! Oh, and homework. Too much homework.

I just downloaded pictures from my camera from this past week, and I realized that I took about 10 pictures. 10. Geesh, I need to break this not taking pictures habit.

We headed up to Michigan to spend Thanksgiving with Theo’s family. On Wednesday, I spent most of the day doing homework. I stayed close by the kitchen, though, so I wouldn’t miss out on any action! And trust me, my sister in law Eryn was busy cookin things all day long!

Wednesday evening we took a ladies night out and made my first trip to the world-famous Bronners! My sister in law, brother-in-laws girlfriend, niece and myself all made the 30 minute drive to check out the Christmas store.

 

My niece, Emma, had the MOST fun at Bronners. That store is crazy. Christmas everywhere…the most insane things and sometimes the cutest things. We didn’t buy anything, but Sarah and I kept gasping at the prices of things. There was one GIANT Christmas ornament for $800.00 (no, I didn’t add an extra zero!). The most expensive thing we saw was a giant santa that was shaped like a cone, carved out of wood and most likely hand painted…it was $2000. HAHA!!! Who wants to spend that much money on a Christmas decoration???

Emma loving on some stuffed animals =)

Thursday, of course was Thanksgiving. We watched some of the Macy’s Day parade to catch the 2 second glimpse of my cousin marching in the honor guard, then spend the rest of the morning preparing the feast. Here it is…

 

I wish I had taken more pictures…

Later that afternoon, we went for a walk around the neighborhood. Theo’s parents have a woman staying with them while she completes med school and she has the most adorable baby.

Of course, we had to take her on the walk. Don’t you think my husband will make an incredible and handsome Father one day???

Isaiah, Sarah, Theo and Bomi

On Friday we all packed up and caravaned with 4 vehicles to Indiana for the viewing and funeral of Theo’s grandfather. I had never met him before, but it was still a time of deep mourning, but also constant laughter and memories as the whole extended family gathered for one last goodbye. I had never been to a viewing before, so this was all new to me. I had a hard time seeing the body and wrapping my head around the fact that this was a dead person. I told my mil that I would probably never be able to step foot in a wax museum again, as the resemblance between the characters in a wax museum and the embalmed body.

The funeral was also a small, intimate, beautiful ceremony giving the testimony of a long life of diligence and faithfulness to the Lord and his wife. He didn’t leave money or many material possessions, but what he did leave was evident in that room in the lives of his children, grandchildren and great-grandchildren.Β  It was also so cool to note how many people he had left this legacy to: his four children, over 20 grandchildren, and several great-grandchildren!! What legacy will I leave?

When we left for Thanksgiving, we left Moose here all by his lonesome. Theo filled up several litter boxes, several bowls of water and several bowls of food. I’m pretty sure he thought we had left him for good. When we got back he purred for hours and would move from room to room with us wherever we went! =) Today we took him for a walk and snapped a couple pictures. We also took a video, but I will save that for the next post

Little Family

 

Thats all for now!

 

 

Leave a Reply

