2nd grade opinion

I need some help with my lesson planning. I am trying to pick a read-aloud to read to my second graders, but I have noooo idea what to pick and I need recommendations. The criteria is:

1. Public school

2. Novel/chapter book

3. 2nd grade audience

4. Something I have read or at least heard of or that would not take me more than a couple hours to read

5. Something that will inspire the kids and get them thinking about things, whether school or life (so that means NOT Diary of a Wimpy Kid or somewhat pointless books like that)

I have some ideas…let me know what you think.

1. One of the books from the Chronicles of Narnia series by C.S. Lewis. What do you think? Too hard for that age group to understand? Too “spiritual”?

2. Mrs. Piggle-Wiggle. I LOVED this when I young…but it’s not very much of a story and will the boys be ok with it?

3. A book by Beverly Cleary or the Junie B Jones books.

4. Charlotte’s Web

5. The Wheel on the School

Any other suggestions???

4 thoughts on “2nd grade opinion

  1. Katie says:

    Have you thought about Holes? It has lots of good discussion points or things to think about how you treat others, about learning, helping people, etc. It’s excellent for boys and girls will enjoy it too.
    Just not sure about the age level… you’d be able to read through it quickly. It also got made into a movie, but I haven’t seen it.
    I used the book with ESL students.

  2. Beth says:

    My recommendation is The Miraculous Journey of Edward Tulane. http://www.amazon.com/The-Miraculous-Journey-Edward-Tulane/dp/0763647837/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1337102165&sr=1-1 I read this to my second graders last year and they loved it (Boys & Girls). They never wanted me to put it down! There is plenty of food for conversation here. You yourself will be able to read it very quickly and as an MK you will totally identify with the theme. I wrote a quick summary here: http://botheras.blogspot.com/2012/05/my-favorite-read-aloud-chapter-books.html.

    I think the Lion, the Witch & the Wardrobe might be a little above second graders.

    Mrs. Piggle-Wiggle, Charlotte’s Web, The Littles, Tumtum & Nutmeg are definitely all around the right level for second graders…I’m telling you though go with The Miraculous Journey! I don’t think you’ll be disappointed!

  3. Kara Rupnow says:

    I think a lot depends on the make up of your class. If you have some who read below grade level or who have auditory processing difficulties or don’t get read to at home or who are learning English, then I’d be sure to not go higher than a third grade level book. You really need those strugglers to be able to track with you since they probably need the read-aloud experience the most. But if your whole class of second graders read like third and fourth graders, then Holes or Narnia could be very appropriate.

    • Kara Rupnow says:

      An advantage of Ramona is that there are many in the series. Some kids have a hard time selecting books, so getting them hooked on a series ensures that they spend more time reading and less time starting and stopping books and wandering around the bookshelf.

Leave a Reply

