Shadow

Shadow.

What does this mean? This is not a hard thing to capture a picture of, but it is a hard thing for me to grasp. In my brief study of this word in Scripture, I found three basic things that it is referring to:

1. An actual shadow

“When evening shadows fell on the gates of Jerusalem” (Nehemiah 13:19)

2. The shadow of refuge

“Because you are my help, I sing in the shadow of your wings” (Ps 63:7)

3. The fleeting nature of shadows (representing our lives)

“They are like a breath; their days are like a fleeting shadow” (Ps 144:4) 

I have hit the ground running this semester. I LOVE teaching, I actually LOVE going to school, even though I thought I would not like it very much. I am crazy busy out of my mind, yet I am loving this semester so much already. But each day I need to be reminded of the shadows. Each day it seems that the literal shadows grow so long so early and I don’t know where the day has gone. Each morning I wonder if I can actually wake up this early, and God reminds me that He has me here and I am in the shadow of His wings. Each day God reminds me that my life is a fleeting shadow, and I need to be living it like it is here today and gone tomorrow.

Have you ever made a shadow with your hands? As soon as you put your hands down, that shadow is gone. A memory, but no more. That is what our lives will be like. I don’t want to look back at this time and not even remember the shadow that my life cast on the wall. Instead, I want to look back at this fleeting semester and see 1. That I only made it through because God allowed me to take refuge in the shadow of His wings and 2. That my life is a fleeting shadow, and I made the most of every opportunity (Ephesians 5:16).

Image

Leave a Reply

