Excuses

I make a lot of excuses.

“I ran three miles….it took me 35 minutes BUT that is because I walked at the beginning to warm up.”

“I can’t hang out tonight because I have too much homework to do.”

“I can’t go to church at that time because that is my only day to sleep in.”

“Theo, I couldn’t make dinner tonight because I am far too exhausted”

“I’m going to skip devotions this morning because I really need breakfast”

“I can’t have kids right now because that is not that time of life.”

“I couldn’t possibly forgive that person…she has hurt me too much”

Some of these excuses are actually valid, some of them are obviously nowhere near valid. Lately, I have found that I make a lot of excuses. I have always struggles with being content. No matter where I am, I choose something to complain about. I think that complaining is my comfort. No matter where I go, no matter what happens, no matter the circumstances or the people in my life, I can always complain. But it goes the other way, too. No matter where I am, no matter the people in my life, no matter the circumstances in my life, I can be thankful and content. I think that I am starting to learn this. But it’s really hard.

I think that the number one excuse I make while talking to people is the excuse to complain. When people ask me how I am doing, I always try to answer with “honesty”. But usually that “honesty” is my golden ticket to complain.

“I’m doing great, but student teaching is killing me!”

“I had a weekend, but I needed it because I had a horrible week!”

“I love where I am in life, but I am so glad to be done with school because it is so hard.”

Do you find that you do this too?

I’m working on it. I’m going to try and respond to people with a hint of complaint in my explanations. Sure, I will still be honest, but I won’t honestly as an excuse to complain.

Just some thoughts I thought I would share with you all.

One thought on “Excuses

  1. Great post! It’s amazing how complaining becomes such a habit and I don’t even know I’m doing it. I highly recommend One Thousand Gifts by Ann Voskamp.

Leave a Reply

