Snow Day!

The view outside out of our basement windows

The view outside out of our basement windows

Oh, yes, I got my snow day.

God is so good, isn’t He?

Last night I was crying to Theo, saying, “I really can’t take one more thing.”

I didn’t get a call last night about school getting cancelled. Well, Theo and I both got lots of calls. Calls to the toilet. No fun. You want to know how protective we get of the toilet when we are both fighting over it’s usage all night long? Ok, ok…tmi.

Somehow I still managed to get rest, and when the alarm went off at 6:00 I thought for sure this could not be happening to me. I checked my phone, booted up the computer to check the internet and voila! Both a text and a website confirming that I had a SNOW DAY!!!!

Theo was not doing so well this morning, so I called his brother, who is a doctor, asking for some advice. He recommended getting some activated charcoal…it does wonders for stomach problems.

My heart was so heavy and I was so anxious and worried about Theo that I just could not go back to sleep. Instead, I decided to do my devotions and spend time in prayer. Let’s look at what Jesus Calling had to say to me today:

Let thankfulness temper all your thoughts. A thankful mind-set keeps you in touch with Me. I hate it when my children grumble, causally despising my Sovereignty. Thankfulness is a safegaurd against this deadly sin. Furthermore, a grateful attitude becomes a grid through which you perceive life.

Wow. That hit me with an incredible conviction- like a load of bricks. So, on this 25th day of March, I wrote down 25 things to be thankful. I meager list, if you ask me. But I needed to do it. And it was the perfect start to my not-so-perfect day.

thankful

After journaling for a while, I decided I was ready to get back into the world, so I went back to bed, next to poor, sick hubby. When I woke up a few hours later, I felt MUCH, MUCH better about life. I grabbed some breakfast (yes, I ate!) and then knocked out some homework

DSCN8721

This week is the week before break, so any lessons I am planning right now means I am getting AHEAD! Oh, yeah…that feels great!

Theo was still feeling awful, so I decided I needed to head out to get him some meds. I was going to drive all the way to the nearest health foods store (40 minutes), but Theo reminded me of the little shop in nearby Yellow Springs that sells everything natural and healthy. So I bundled up and headed off to Yellow Springs! It was actually a breath of fresh air to leave our sicky house and drive just a little bit in the beautiful falling snow. The roads actually weren’t too bad, and the snow was still falling beautifully.

snow road

the front of "our" house

the front of “our” house

yellow springs #lovethetrees

yellow springs #lovethetrees

 

The activated charcoal. I highly recommend this stuff if you have stomach problems! It apparently sucks the bad stuff (toxins) out and you really can feel a difference when that happens!

activated charcoal

I also ate some lunch today and then made some bread. I have been doing this for the past several months. It is much cheaper for me to make it than to buy loaves and loaves of bread. Plus, it has no preservatives so it really is much healthier than almost any store-bought option (especially a store-bought option in our price range!)

bread in oven

Don’t worry…I cheat and use the KitchenAid. It saves a lot of time. I found the recipe I use for this bread on pinterest but the original source is from here.

mixer flour

I got some more homework done, and then spent some time writing letters. This is my therapy. When I write to other people I am not thinking about myself, which I need a lot. I also feel like I am making a difference and know how awesome it feels to get a letter or note in my mailbox, and love returning or giving that joy to others. Remember my February challenge to write a letter everyday? Well, I did it! I wrote 28 letters in the month of February. It was challenging, but actually a lot of fun. Now to finish sending them out…haha!

journal:letters

Leave a Reply

