Backpacking Snacks

Did you know that trail mix is the easiest thing in the world to make? Haha! I mean, it is just a mix of nuts, raisins and whatever else you want to throw in.

Which means that trail mix in the store is fairly overpriced and not really worth your time. But that is just my opinion.

Some nuts are fairly expensive, but I only used about half of all these ingredients and filled a gallon sized Ziploc bag with trail mix.

Ingredients:

  • Peanuts (pictured about are dry-roasted)
  • Sesame seeds
  • Mixed/Assorted/Pricey (however you want to classify them) nuts
  • Raisins
  • Chocolate Chips, M&Ms, peanut butter chocolate chips, or a mix of all three!

Directions:

  • Mix together.

Seriously, that is it. I didn’t measure anything. I knew that I wanted more peanuts than chocolate chips, and more raisins than mixed nuts, but other than that, I just dumped it all in a medium sized mixing bowl

And as you can see from this picture, there is still lots of ingredients left and lots of trail mix made!

The other snack item that I made for our backbacking trip is Honey Milk Dough Balls. I found the recipe in More With Less cookbook (which you need to get, btw) and thought it looked simple enough. Well, simple was an understatement. Next to trail mix, this was one of the easiest things I have ever made!

Combine in a bowl:

1/2 c. honey

1/2 c. peanut butter

1 c. dry milk solids

1 c. uncooked rolled oats

Mix well, then knead by hand. Form into small balls.

That is it, folks. For our backpacking trip, I didn’t mold them into balls, I just left them as a dough and stuck it in a ziploc bag. These are DELICIOUS.

 

One thought on “Backpacking Snacks

  1. If you can’t find your chocolate chips, they are in the fridge, LOL! I think some other kind of chips are in the freezer. Need to know where anything else is? 🙂 And have fun!!!!

Leave a Reply

