My Dream Job

I have a pretty cool life. Right now, I’m not really doing anything. Well, only for the next week, then my job starts for real.

A lot of people have been asking me “what’s next?” (doesn’t every senior get that?). And honestly, it’s been hard to explain what is next. I graduated with a degree in Early Childhood Education (certified preK-3rd grade). I LOVE teaching. It has always been my dream job. When I was little, I would *try* to line my cat’s kittens up on my bed and teaching them Sunday school. Of course, it would take me about 5 minutes to get them all lined up, then as soon as I started “teaching” one kitten would wander off, as soon as I got that kitten back, another one would wonder off, etc, etc. Hmmmm…that actually sounds a little bit like teaching in a real classroom, now that I think about it! =).

I haven’t applied for any jobs. I know, I’m crazy. I just worked for four long, expensive years to earn that degree, and now I am not going to use it??? Well, here is the thing. Teaching terrifies me. No…. the parents, the government, the rules terrify me. Teaching….the lesson planning part? The instructing part? The dealing with classroom management part? No problem. The way America’s education system is run makes me want to run the other direction. Fast. Forever. Plus there is the fact that as a teacher, there is no such thing as part-time. It’s your whole life, your whole day. From 7 am to 4 pm, then grading and lesson planning fit in those hours that would otherwise be spent at home. Sure, we have summers off! But I can’t put my relationship with my husband on hold until summer. Nor can I ignore the cleaning that needs to be done until summertime, either.

I have felt the Lord calling me to say no to teaching (full-time) in America. I know it seems strange, it seems totally out of whack. Teaching? Yes. Where? I don’t know yet…but it’s not here. I am still waiting for God to tell me where, exactly. And when.

So what is the other direction? Well, right now I am working at a daycare/preschool. It does the job. It keeps me with kids, but it allows me to work a part-time job. I am excited to be putting together my own “classroom”, even if it is just for the summer! I am very excited to be working with these kids, and I hope that I will cherish every moment with them!

That being said, what exactly is my dream job? It’s a bunch of different jobs rolled into one!

– Teaching kids. Absolutely. Without a doubt. Either missionary kids or nationals in a third-world country.

– Missionary. Africa.

– Raising my own kids. Honestly, my dream job is being a Mom. I know that it is not glamorous, nor is it easy. But that is what I want more than anything.

– Wedding planner. If I had another life, and I could choose any job in that life…I would love to be a wedding planner. I love the details, the organization, the planning, and seeing it all come together on one beautiful day. Wouldn’t that be the coolest thing????

Side note on this incredibly long post: I just looked up some crazy jobs, and I am switching my dream job FASCINATED. Like being a snake milker. Or a person who runs a flag up and down the capital building, just so the flags can be sold as ‘capital flags’. Or a food tester (heck.yes!). Or a pet food tester (heck.NO!). What about a professional organizer, or a crime-scene cleaner, or a furniture tester, or a resort waterslide tester? OOOhhhhh, I also think that being a tour guide somewhere famous could get interesting. Google it. Interesting jobs.

Leave a Reply

