Strengths and Weaknesses

First of all, I just want to preface this post by saying that it has been difficult to write. Friday night in small group, we studied Romans 12 and I was reminded of the truths in this Scripture:

For by the grace given me I say to every one of you: Do not think of yourself more highly than you ought, but rather think of yourself with sober judgment, in accordance with the faith God has distributed to each of you. For just as each of us has one body with many members, and these members do not all have the same function, so in Christ we, though many, form one body, and each member belongs to all the others. We have different gifts, according to the grace given to each of us. If your gift is prophesying, then prophesy in accordance with your[a] faith; if it is serving, then serve; if it is teaching, then teach; if it is to encourage, then give encouragement; if it is giving, then give generously; if it is to lead,[b] do it diligently; if it is to show mercy, do it cheerfully.

I am constantly finding myself comparing myself to others. Well, I can’t sing so I guess I’m really not useful to the church at this moment. Or I can’t do _____________, so I’m useless. I only see people under the age of 8 on a daily basis, so I really don’t impact that many people.

This passage reminds me to not think too highly of myself. In other words, don’t brag about all those strengths that I do have. But it also tells me to use my strengths and not spend time dwelling on those things that God did not necessarily equip me for.

When I started doing this 30 post challenge thing, I just thought it would be a lot of fun. But lately I have been thinking about the original point of the 30 things: for my kids. Right now, I don’t have kids, but one day when they can read they might look back on this and find this post. Maybe they will be so proud of me, and nod with every strength that I write out. Or maybe they will think that I am embarrassing and annoying, and will agree more with my assessments of my weaknesses. Or maybe they will be grown up and reflect on these things. I don’t know, but it’s kinda cool to wonder.

I also want to mention that all the glory goes to God for equipping me with strengths, and also giving me weaknesses! None of these things are things that I have developed on my own strength.

5 Greatest Strengths:

1. Loyalty/depth in relationships

2. Working with children

3. Sensitivity

4. Honesty

5. Spiritual gift of encouragement/healing

 

5 Greatest Weaknesses:

1. Negativity

2. Comparing myself to others

3. Sensitivity

4. Moody

5. Serving others without focusing on myself

 

There you have it!

Leave a Reply

