Dreams for the Future

Post #21 in this 30-post challenge is

“Where do you see yourself in 5 years? 10 years? 15 years?”

This post has been the hardest to write, so far. Not because I have no dreams for the future. But because my dreams are so muddled up in my heart I don’t know what I want to have in 5 years, 10 years or 15 years. That seems like SO. FAR. down the road. As a believer, I also need to understand the fleeting way that life can fade. I don’t know that I am guaranteed 15 more years, so sometimes I don’t want to put ALL my thought into that. Hey, I’m not even guaranteed tomorrow, so I also need to think about that sometimes.

Honestly, I want my life to be a grand adventure. I have been thinking about this for a while. I keep yearning for this grand adventure. And then I realize something. You know what? Life is only going to be a grand adventure if I make adventures out of the little things. They daily things. The things that become monotonous. Check back with me in 15 years when I actually figure out HOW to do that, but that is what God has been teaching my heart lately.

Oh, but don’t get me wrong. I want to go to Paris in the winter. I want to backpack Europe. I want to go to every continent of the world. I want to be the best mother to some children. I want to do some adventures in my life, but for now I need to MAKE adventures out of what I have (including my budget =) )

So, with that being said, here are some thoughts of where I would like to be in 5 years, 10 years and 15 years:

5 years:

– be a Mom.

be in the pprocess of adopting, or have already adopted

– be heading overseas as full-time missionaries, if not already overseas

student loans completely paid off

10 years:

be full time missionaries in Africa- I’d love to be teaching SOMETHING, whether a womens class, an English class, or at a children’s school.

Theo has a wonderful dream of starting a business (namely, a martial arts studio), and using all proceeds from that to fund some of our mission work. In ten years, that would be awesome to see happen

Have at least 4 kids =) (and we really, really, really, really, really want to have twins. But we obviously really have no choice in that one!)

15 years:

Theo says: “be done having kids (at least 6 of them), still be full-time missionaries and have gone on several extensive backpacking adventures.”

Well, there you have it!

This will be a fun post to look back on in a couple years.

I wrote one similar to this a year ago: here. It is interesting and slightly saddening to say that I didn’t accomplish many things that I wanted to accomplish. BUT, I have accomplished many different things, things I never would have though to put on that list.

11. Graduate from Cedarville University with high honors

12. Not live in a basement.

13. Suz- be featured on a website or in a magazine (This is ridiculous, but something that I would absolutely LOVE to have!)

Theo- Be a certified paramedic
(halfway there!)

14. Suz- Make our wedding scrapbook

Theo- Make a wooden recipe box for Suzanne

15. Suz- plan someone else’s wedding

Theo- Be actively leading a guys or couple’s bible study

Now, you may notice that we do not have 3 of those 5 goals accomplished. However, if you look at our goals for 5 years, we already have several of those!

16. Suz- Cook through a cookbook (Now, I’m not planning on going as all-out as Julia Childs, here. It might just be a pasta book, or a cupcake cookbook.) 

I’m working on it!

Theo- Be done with grad school and have a counseling license

17. Run a marathon

Working on this one, too! Really soon I’ll be able to cross it off the list!

18. Have a BABY

19. Pay off all my loans (God has been so good in the financial aid I have gotten, this looks very possible within 4 years of graduating!!!!)

We are right on track for this one!

20. Have a thriving garden and animals (like goats and chickens!)

We got our garden, and we are ordering chickens soon!

What are some goals that you have?

Writing this particular post has inspired me to take out my journal and a pen and make some goals. For this week. For this month. And for this year.

One thought on “Dreams for the Future

  1. Jon Oren says:

    I loved reading this! Made me think of many sweet thoughts and memories with Rachael. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

