On a Lighter Note

Today’s post is my favorite holiday and why it is my favorite holiday.

Honestly, I don’t think I have one.

Growing up, we didn’t really make a big deal about too many holidays. Some holidays were celebrated every year, with some traditions thrown in. Some holidays were celebrated depending on what country we were living in, and some holidays were just never celebrated.

Over the years, I have grown to admire people who can throw a party for every holiday. Like one each month. Extravagant. Themed. Festive. Secretly, I wish I could be like that.

Usually what ends up happening is that I look and look for ideas all across the interwebs, and finally give up because it seems impossible. A week later, I find 15,234 ideas that could have been used for that holiday. Isn’t that just the way it is?

All that being said, I think my favorite holiday is birthdays.

I love birthdays.

I love my own birthday a lot.

But I also love other people’s birthdays.

I used to want to have a friend born on every day of the year, so that I could know someone who had every birthday possible. But so far that hasn’t happened. In high school, I was known to never forget a birthday. There is just something so special about that one day of the year. It’s like I have an excuse to spoil a person (or get spoiled myself). Now that I am older, and my friends are spread out everywhere, I have a harder time remembering to send a card or say Happy Birthday. But I do still LOVE birthdays.

What are some of your favorite birthday traditions?

Leave a Reply

