Summer Reading

This summer I have not read as much as I would have liked. However, I have had much more time to read this summer than I had during the school year! Here are some books that I have read this summer:

1. One Thousand Gifts, Ann Voskamp

This book was an interesting, and inspiring read. I say interesting because she has a very unique writing style. It is inspiring because through her story she challenged me (and many other readers) to be thankful for everything…the little daily things, not just the big ‘miracles’ that make us stop. She encourages us to allow even the little things to make us stop in a breathless act of thankfulness. I started keeping a thankful journal, and I this summer I have sat down with my kids at school and written down something that they are thankful for each day. It has been SO. FUN. to watch the thankful hearts of children!

2. Yes, You Can Adopt, Richard Mintzer

I picked this one up on a whim at the library, and I couldn’t put it down. For me, it was so informative. It is very basic, giving the ins and outs of what adoption is like. A very balanced perspective on both sides of many issues. It is a little bit dated, and with adoption….things can change in a week, but overall it was still really helpful for me and Theo as we begin to formulate where to begin with this adoption journey.

3. The Excellent Wife, Martha Peace.

I have been going through this one in my devotions, and it has been an excellent supplement to my time in the Word. It is sometimes very convicting, though! It is an easy read, so I can read just a few pages at a time and then meditate on it for a while. I would highly recommend this one to any wife.

4. A Child Called “It:, Dave Pelzer. I think that this book should be required reading for every teacher or person who works with young children. Pelzer goes into great detail about the abuses he suffered at the hand of his mother. It is a gut-wrenching and awful story, but one of those things that makes me a better person from reading it. It made me think “Oh, so that might be why _____ acted like that!”, or “Ok, that is something to watch out for with _______”. Abuse is everywhere in the lives of young children, and it is so important to know the signs. This book helped with that!

5. What Else But Home?, Michael Rosen

This is a slower read, but a good story. It is about a man and his family who live near the ‘hood’ of NYC. They end up just taking in many of the kids that live in the area, not out of missions or a certain mindset, but just because. I haven’t actually finished this one yet, but it is a pretty powerful story so far!

Well, those are simply the current books that I have checked out of the library. I haven’t read very many novels this summer…yet. What happens is that I go to the library, and walk down one shelf area. I stand there and grab a book that looks interesting, then see another one in the same section that looks interesting, then another and another. And then my hands are full and my heart is a little bit broken that my arms are already full of books. Sigh. Next time, I will have to discipline myself enough to get one book from each section. Ha!

P.S. I LOVE the posts on Pinterest about reading/books. There are so many…

Books

Reading quote via Namaste Cafe at www.Facebook.com/NamasteDharmaCafe

Once a year - I do an "all day" read but usually just here and there but always reading.

Ok, gonna go pick up a good book!

One thought on “Summer Reading

  1. I’m glad you enjoyed the two I recommended. I, too, feel like I’m a better person….more thankful, more aware….after reading those two.

Leave a Reply

