Homemade Bread

I just wanted to share with you all my homemade bread recipe. Well, lets call it half-homemade, since I usually cheat and use the bread machine =)

I started making my own homemade bread about a year ago. During this time, I was newly married and wanting to try out the simple home living that has been modeled to me by my Mom, and several of my sisters-in-law. I found a bread recipe on Pinterest and tried it out. We absolutely loved it, but it was challenging to keep up with the bread consumption– and there was only two of us! As I began student teaching in the Spring, and was resorting back to store-bought bread. But seriously, folks. Once you start eating homemade, there is no going back!

At one point, I realized that someone had given me a bread machine as a wedding present. I tried a couple bread recipes, but none of them were my favorite. I finally decided I would try to start tweaking the bread recipes until I found one I liked.

This is my bread machine. It makes 1 lb, 1.5 lb and 2 lb loafs of bread. It has a bunch of different programs on it that I am still experimenting with.

I actually decided to use a white bread recipe, even though our preference is wheat bread. I ended up substituting some of the white flour for wheat flour. The options for my bread machine are 1.5 lb loaf and 2 lb loaf, so I usually make the 2 lb loaf. We usually go through 1 1/2 loafs in a week, but it kind of depends on the week and what our work schedules are like.

The recipe (for a 2 lb loaf):

11/3 c + 1 T water (115-125 degrees)

2 T oil

3 T sugar

2 T dry milk

1 1/2 t salt

1 c wheat flour

2 1/2 c all purpose flour

4 1/2 t bread machine yeast

The “hardest” part of making bread in the bread machine is combining all the ingredients! The only trick here is to combine them IN THE ORDER of ingredients. It is important that the liquid (water and oil) go on the bottom, all the other ingredients next, and the yeast goes on the very top. You want to try and make sure that the yeast isn’t touching the liquids until the process of baking/kneading happens- and that happens in the bread machine (How convenient!).

The pan just fits right in, and then I program the machine to the right setting, shut the lid- and let it do it’s magic!

With the fast bake setting that I use, it only takes 58 minutes to bake the loaf of bread. I LOVE it, because as long as I have an hour, I can bake some bread. Now that I have been making bread 1-2 times a week, I have got my bread-making chore down to ten minutes or less, obviously not including the wait time.

Plus, there are many more benefits! Healthier? Heck yes! It doesn’t have any preservatives in it- I know exactly what ingredients are being put into my body. Does it go bad faster? Yes, it does- but I usually just make sure I have a couple loaves in the freezer and keep the already cut loaf in the fridge during the hot summer months.

Cheaper? Yes, I really think so! All of those ingredients together cost about $10-$12. It’s hard to say, since I use things like the oil and flour for other baking/cooking, but I think I usually get about 5 loaves of bread from the flour and yeast, and so far I haven’t run out of dry milk, sugar or yeast simply from making bread. One loaf of bread at the store is about $3.75

And of course, lets please not forget how incredibly amazing my house smells after I have baked bread! The other day I had this apple cinnamon candle burning and freshly baked bread on the counter…MMMM GLORIOUS!

One thought on “Homemade Bread

  1. Linda Watt says:

    Thanks for the recipe b/c I have a bread machine out here and am always looking to try a good one. I’ll let you know how it turns out! I usually make the dough in the bread machine and then bake in the oven. I have a toaster oven that I sometimes us as a bread pan fits right in and it’s a lot easier to use and not as hot as my oven!

Leave a Reply

