DIY Chalkboard

Image

I looooove creating new things.

Problem is, I’m not very crafty.

One time, in 8th grade, we were making figurines out of some sort of puffy clay. I had a great idea for my figurine, I think I might have even modeled it after one of my favorite teachers.

When I was finished, a fellow student came up behind me and said, “That is as UGLY as TRASH!”

There is more to that story, but I will leave it at that.

My craftiness has not gotten much better since then.

Thankfully, God put Theo and I together. Theo is not “crafty” in the girly term, but whatever my brain dreams of creating, Theo can make. He make the large Africa string picture on my living room wall. I get SO many compliments on that one. He also made me a picture frame one time and put our first picture we ever took together in it. He woodburned a pretty design all around it. I still have that one, too. The pumpkins on our porch? I explained the idea that I wanted, and I came home from school one day and had exactly what I had envisioned sitting on my font porch! SCORE!

On Monday, I got a call mid-morning that I didn’t have to go to work. I immediately felt 10x more productive, since I had five extra hours in my day. I was sitting at the computer browsing Pinterest when I remembered that I really want a chalkboard. I told Theo that I would one day like a chalkboard, and he commented that it shouldn’t be too hard to make. So we looked up how to make it, and then suddenly we were working on it!

This project would only take a day if you just do the chalkboard part. However, we had a slight mishap with the wood that we used, and there was a large gap at the top of the frame. We filled that gap with embellishments, which I absolutely LOVE, even though that was not in the original plan! This is also not a cheap-cheap DIY project. We ended up buying a wood burner for this project, so that ended up bringing the price to about $50. But, if we had a wood burner on hand it would have only been about half of that.

Here is how we did it:

Step 1: Gather supplies

– Frame

– Fiberwood sheet

– Primer (and paintbrush)

– Chalkboard Paint (and foam roller- NOT paintbrush) 

– Spray paint (optional)

– Wood burner (optional)

We ended up having to buy all of these supplies, so that is what made the price go up. I headed to goodwill, where I searched through the many frames. I finally just selected the biggest one, even though it was pretty ugly…

This baby was $5.

Then, we headed to Lowe’s, where we grabbed the wood, paintbrushes, primer and paint. Also….just fyi…fiberwood is really expensive. We went with just a regular sheet of lumber which ended up being much cheaper. I was told that it would make the chalkboard bumpy, but I don’t see any signs of bumpiness. I’ll let you know when I get some chalk on it, though. We were also told that we should buy a foam roller for painting with chalkboard paint, also to avoid the bumps. We did follow that advice, and I think that it really was true!

Step 2: Cut lumber so that it fits into the frame. Theo was the pro at this step. I don’t even remember it happening haha!

Step 3: Get frame ready. As you can see in the above picture, the frame was a pepto bismal pink color, which would not fly in our house. So we got a beautiful green color and simply spray painted the frame.

Step 4: Paint the wood piece with primer- two coats. I don’t honestly know if primer is necessary for a chalkboard, but we decided to go ahead and do it anyways.

Step 5: Paint the wood piece with chalkboard paint- at least 3 coats.

Step 6: Embellish if desired! As I mentioned before, the piece of wood that we got was a little bit too short for the frame, so we ended up adding the top portion. Theo bought a wood burner and burned some lettering into this part.

Step 7: Frame

 

Step 8: Hang and use!

…and that is what I am going to go do right now! Hopefully I will have some future posts about how I use this beautiful piece!

 

 

2 thoughts on “DIY Chalkboard

  1. Beth B. says:

    Nicely done! 🙂

  2. Very nice! And yes, I think you need the primer or the blackboard paint would have all absorbed into the wood. I’m just disappointed you didn’t keep the pink frame. LOL. I can’t wait to see where you hang it in your house. Well done…..and you could make these and sell them.

Leave a Reply

