Date Night!

Sundays are officially our date night.

We kicked off this tradition with a date picked by me: Scavenger Hunt!

In case you missed the post about trying to make a date night tradition, click here.

A scavenger hunt was fantastic because

1. We didn’t have to leave the house (although you could design it so that you do)

2. It didn’t cost a penny!

I scoured pinterest and google for some good wording ideas, but in the end, I decided I didn’t really care if the clues rhymed or not. I used an idea from The Dating Divas for the first two notes, then just made up my own that were not eloquent at all!

Theo was at work all day on Sunday, and when he got home the note on the door said:

Roses are red,

Violets are blue,

And I’ve got the best date planned for you!

The next one said,

But before we can go,

You’ve got to bring all the parts to make this date sing!

The next 11 clues led him around the house to get all the items for our little picnic dinner. I had him get: 

1. Plates

2. Forks

3. Napkins

4. Garlic Salt

5. Water (already poured, in the fridge)

6. Pillows

7. Married people stuff 

8. Candles

9. Pizza Cutter

10. PIZZA!

11. The picnic room

If the weather had been warmer, I would have had it lead outside, but since it was freezing cold, I just had it lead to our little craft room, where we had a picnic dinner on the floor.

This was SO fun to put together, and even more fun to watch Theo try to figure out the clues. My favorite part was when he opened the oven door to find the pizza!

There are many different ways a scavenger hunt can be turned into a date. Here a few of the other ideas I was thinking of:

1. Have your spouse/significant other collect items to get really dressed up, and find a fancy restaurant or a significant location for the clues to lead to

2. Take the significant other around to different locations all across town

3. Hide the items in difference places. So while I used everyday household items, the clues led Theo to where those items are usually kept. A twist on that would have been to hide the forks in the bathtub, the plates in the basement, the water in the closet, etc. It could make it a little bit more silly.

4. Involve the kids! I know that this is easier said than done, since I don’t have kids, but I have done scavenger hunts with children before, and I know that they eat it up! This could just be a fun twist on dinner- make a bunch of clues that lead to dinner being in another room of the house. I can gaurentee that the children would be over the moon excited!

Have you ever done a date night scavenger hunt? Will you plan one in the future? I’d love to hear your feedback!

One thought on “Date Night!

  1. mamhines says:

    Suzanne, you are amazing! So many fun ideas and so much energy! I am blessed to have you as a “daughter.” Thanks for being such a blessing to Theo! I love you! ~Mom

Leave a Reply

